One Word for 2011?

My sister sent a link this morning I’d like to share.  It resonates with me as we approach the final stretch of prep time for NASMM’s Annual Conference in January. Yay, Florida! (Double yay! for “on the beach” in FL!) In Chicago, we are experiencing the first snow fall of the 2010-2011 winter season – 7 inches – this morning. Check out my view as I write this post.

But I digress. The link from my sister is actually a post from Gretchen Rubin’s the Happiness Project blog. Here goes:

Choose One Word to Set the Tone for Next Year.

Happiness resolution: Choose a one-word theme for the new year.

I love New Year’s resolutions – and I’m not the only one. Some 44% of Americans make New Year’s resolutions.

There’s a kind of resolution that I’ve never made before, but that has always fascinated me: identifying one idea, often summarized in just one word, as an overarching theme for the entire year.

My sister often does this kind of resolution. One year was the year of “Free Time.” Another year was “Hot Wheels” — that year, she got a car and started driving; she and I have both struggled with a fear of driving, which was much tougher for her, given that she lives in Los Angeles and I live in New York City.

I’ve never tried this approach before, but this year I want to give it a try. I knew exactly what word I wanted to pick. My theme for the year is “Bigger.”

I have to fight the urge to simplify, to keep things manageable; this word will remind me to think big, to tolerate complications, to expect more from myself. Many people work to simplify their lives, but I struggle against the tendency to simplify too much. As Albert Einstein observed, “Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.”

Have you ever tried this choose-a-theme approach? Did it help you direct your year?

My challenge, starting in January, is to figure out what to do differently, according to the theme. What will allow me to think “Bigger?” I’m still trying to puzzle that out. My usual strategy is to make concrete, manageable resolutions that will help me bring about a larger change. But for “Bigger,” I’ve decided that instead of translating it into resolutions, I will use it to frame my outlook.

I’m fascinated to get more ideas for themes. What theme or word would you pick?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
From MKB: This blog post got me thinking about what lone word we might use to capture NASMM’s goals for 2011, especially as we launch a new year together at our Annual Conference in a few short weeks. In 2010, the entire association has worked hard on building awareness of senior move management, enhancing our ongoing commitment to ethical standards, guiding the newest of NASMM members, and encouraging sustainability among our more experienced SMMs. But just one word for 2011? What should it be? Any ideas?

Ms. Rubin’s timely suggestion in her blog has me thinking one step further: At year’s end, what solitary word would you use to summarize the past year? Now that’s interesting too . . .

Your thoughts?

2 thoughts

  1. DREAM – I believe we draw on all our perfect-world scenarios when we dream (a bit different than nightmares!). Whatever piece of life that comes to mind, whether personal – and interpersonal, professional or situational, we create visual images and scenarios that make us smile.
    Every great development begins with a dream. So I plan to dream in detail, and smile along the path of the rainbow on the way to the pot-of -gold- dream-come-true at the other end. Happy New Year. See you in Florida!

  2. “PRE-PLAN” and build deep value for your company. Year after year we hear “your service is great and when we decide we need it, we’ll be sure to call”. Pre-planning agreements put this money right in the bank, right after they say it. It ensures the POA / Estate Trustees are aware of your services and the client’s wish to not burden family or others in the event of the customer becoming incapacitated or passing. It only makes sense that if people are willing to pre-plan their funeral, they are equally or perhaps even more willing to pre-plan thier downsize or estate. Design your plan, your pre-planning language and your pre-planning agreements in 2011 and watch the value of your business grow. IMAGINE selling your business 10 years from now with 150 signed pre-planning agreements in place, each with an average value of $X,xxx. The value of my business isn’t in it’s current day revenue, but rather in the confirmed revenue yet to be realized – that can be sold with my business when that time comes.

Leave a Reply

